Tablecloth to grocery bag

Last summer I found a bunch of neat tablecloths at a yardsale. The entire bunch was a buck, so I bought them. They were not the best shape ever, but I was going to cut them up anyway, so it did not matter. (I would have never put them on my table…..not really my style, but for a beginner seamstress they were great raw material!)

Today I dug one of them out of the material box I have. I love the fabric with all the veggies on it! I made a half-apron out of it already and one (yes, ONE) napkin.
Now it was time to make a grocery bag from it!
Here it is:I am rather proud of how it came out. Yes, there is plenty of room for improvement, but that is what keeps us going, isn’t it?This little bag will be a present for our adopted Oma, Eva. A sweet little German lady, that took to us like a duck to water. (We volunteer together at the food bank. That’s how we met)
Here is a detail of how I sewed in the handles.

I sure hope she will like it!

Happy to hear from you! :)

