making the little bits count

I can’t throw away even the little bits of fabric.
We have to budget with our money, so I want to get the most possible mileage out of every inch of what I bought. Even IF I got it at a yard sale for pennies. Those pennies had to be earned first, so I part heavy hearted with them… ๐Ÿ˜€
Before I had a sewing machine, I saved the tiny bits and used them for crazy quilting. I did it all by hand. It took f o r e v e r……but it was fun.
Tonight I was fixing my dogs coat and the idea came to me, I could try the sew and flip technique with my sewing machine!
And lo and behold: It worked! ๐Ÿ™‚
This is what I have so far:
YAYYY! ๐Ÿ™‚ I want to randomly add bits and pieces. When it is big enough, I plan on squaring it off. I want to end up with squares of about 12 x 12 inches plus seam allowance. Then I can start embroidering on it. When I have enough squares (depending on when I run out of remnants or patience LOL) I will sew them all together, add the tiniest bit of batting and a backing and presto. Done! ๐Ÿ™‚
This may take a while, but it is a way to even use the little bits! I am thrilled!

I am shooting for a pillow for now. If I get to make more squares and it becomes something bigger, I will do a happy dance! ๐Ÿ˜€

Very important when doing this: Always keep your iron hot and ready. There is a lot of ironing and seeing that it lays flat. ๐Ÿ™‚ Other then that, you can breeze through!

Happy to hear from you! :)

