WIP basket

I found a sweet little tote (magazine rack?) at the Thrift store the other week. I loved it: the fabric was cute, the colours just down my alley. The price was right. So I took it! I put my knitting/crocheting WIP in it. Cute little daisies!Then, day before yesterday I found another one at the thrift store. One of the little bottom dowels was missing, the fabric was ripped, the lining was in even worse shape. I took it anyway. With all it’s little flaws.
Just before checking out I found the pillow cases from the earlier post. This one:Little stylized pomegranate trees! Very royal! (Queen Katherine of Aragon’s emblem!) LOVE IT! And knew right away it was the new cover for the WIP basket!!
I spent yesterday ripping the seams of the existing cover very carefully, so I could use it as a pattern. Then I took one pillowcase apart.It took a bit of thinking and pinning today to figure out how to sew it so it would have a bottom and the lower loop, but I did it! 😀I left out the lining and instead opted for a removable cover, so you can wash it and don’t have to re-cover it when need be. Very practical. Great way to use some of the vintage buttons from my collection!All that’s missing now are new lower dowels and it is ready to find a new home (I will put it in my shop on Monday, when I have the dowels.I would have never liked the fabric for pillows, but I think it is perfect for the magazine rack/tote/WIP basket!I just stuck a two of my cook-spoons through to make the picture. I will make another one when I have the dowels done 😀
What do you think?

5 thoughts on “WIP basket

  1. I think you have to be the most creative person I've ever not met in person. Hee. It would have never occured to me to remake something like this. Wow!! It's fantastic!

  2. YESSSSSSSSSSS.What a great fabric for that! It looks so good. Shamefully, it never occurred to me that a person can make a knitting basket.oh dear, roe. oh dear.

Happy to hear from you! :)

