Eye mask tutorial, or: I’m just tooooo stoopid!

I promised a printable pattern for the sleeping mask
I tried..
I tried really hard.
I even emailed my friend Karen (a wizard with the photo program)
I still couldn’t wrap my mind around how it’s done!
I have been in awe of these “just download and print out” type of sewing tutorials/patterns for sooooo long…
Alas: it is and always will be a book with 7 locks for me. 😦

So here is the best I could come up with so far. I drew my pattern, the way I do for using it here at home, added some measurements and made a picture.
I hope this will help you at least a bit.You can download the picture use your photoshop, or the printer settings to blow it up a bit (yeah, it is said easy, but I just can’t do it…) and then print it out….I really honestly hope this works for you….

Here is what you do:
Take two pieces of fabric, about 12 inches by 5 inches (one for the front and one for the back) lay them on top of each other, wrong sides facing. You will also need a little bit of batting (can just be another piece of thicker fabric) the same size.
Fold the outer fabric in half down the middle (fold them on the long sides), mark and cut out the pattern including the seam allowance.Fold the batting in half and cut out the pattern again, but WITHOUT the seam allowance.
Lay the batting on top of the fabric. Pin everything together.

Sew around the edges with a straight stitch just catching the battingDon’t sew all the way, leave a little opening to turn!
Cut all around the edges into the seam allowance. This will help it turn easier.
Turn the project so the two right sides will be out. Use a pencil or something like it to help you turn if necessary.Put in a wee little bit of herbs and a tiny little bit of rice to give it some weight DO NOT PUT TOO MUCH RICE IN IT! Max. 2 tbs! (the herbs and the rice are optional) and sew up the opening by hand.
Presto!

You can add some ribbons to tie it on or some elastic.
Just pin it before you sew to the INSIDE (where the right side of the fabric is!) so it will be outside after turning!

Happy to hear from you! :)

