Round toe for toe up socks

I love to knit socks. Cuff down on DPN’s is my favorite, but every now and then a toe up comes in VERY handy.
Looking through the different toe up patterns, I noticed that there was only the “pointy” toe for it. I could not find a different toe anywhere. So… I figured I will try  my hand at figuring out a round toe in reverse. This is what I came up with!
I hope it helps!
You can download it for free here as a PDF, that might be easier to print.

I want to thank @BevKnits and @shanknitsnyc for being brave and trying it out! ๐Ÿ™‚
And of course my good friend Karen for making the PDF so pretty!
Loves y’all!
So without further ado… here is: The first, the only, Rambling Designs’ round toe for toe up socks! ๐Ÿ™‚

The numbers in the tutorial can be used to make a sock that ends up having 56 st in the round on size US3 (3.25 mm) needles. I used relatively thick yarn for it, so it will show up better. If you need more or less st, just adjust accordingly. I wrote it for DPN’s if you rather knit your socks on circs or with the magic loop, you can still do that, just ignore where it says DPN and insert your favorite method. ๐Ÿ™‚
Once you have figured out how it goes you will be able to adjust it however you need it for your socks.

You need:
Yarn, set of 5 DPN, one DPN one size smaller then the set, 1 stitch marker
OR:
Yarn, set of 5DPN’s,  crochet hook, 1 stitch marker, waste yarn

With one DPN from the set and the smaller DPN held together cast on 16 st. Make sure to have about 7 inches of loose tail left over in the end!

Remove smaller needle.
Divide stitches evenly on the other DPN’s of the set (4 stitches on each needle)

 Now thread your yarn needle with the tail end of the yarn. bring it around and start threading it through the stitches on needle 1. This will close it to a round. Then thread it through all the rest of the stitches on the other needles.
It should look like this now:

Move the tail to the back of the work, that’s where it needs to end up anyway.

Place beginning of round marker and knit one round. (=round 1)
Round 2: *k1, m1, k3, rep from * around (20st)
Round 3: *k1, m1, k4, rep from * around (24st)
Round 4: *k1, m1, k5, rep from * around (28st)
Round 5: *k1, m1, k6, rep from * around (32st)
Ok take a breather! We have increased in every round so far, but we don’t want to make a table cloth, we want a sock. So instead of having something flat, we need sort of a tube…

(notice the hole still in the middle? It will go away shortly!)
From here on out, we increase in every other round like so:
Round 6: *k1, m1, k7, rep from * around (36st)
Round 7:  k all stitches
Round 8: *k1, m1, k8, rep from * around (40st)
Round 9: k all stitches
Round 10: *k1, m1, k9, rep from * around (44st)
Round 11: k all stitches
Round 12: *k1, m1, k10, rep from * around (48st)
Round 13: k all stitches
Round 14: *k1, m1, k11, rep from * around (52 st)
Round 15: k all stitches
Round 16: *k1, m1, k12, rep from * around (56st)

14 on each needle, if you are using DPN’s.

Now it’s time to close the hole! (let our toes have the fun of making holes in the socks, not before!!)
Turn your work upside down and inside out and thread the yarn needle with the short tail, like this:

Now pull the thread tight! Puuuuul! (not too hard, we don’t want the thread to rip, but pull the hole nice and snug. Make sure you push all the cast on edge to the inside, or it will give you a little ring at the tip of your toe ๐Ÿ™‚

Sew in the ends and presto!!!!

From here on out you are free to continue knitting the sock of your dreams. You can shorten the toe, by castin gon more stitches, or by increasing every round more often. You can lengthen it, by increasing evey other round more often, or casting on fewer stitches.

  Picture Courtesy of Bev Currie. (@Bevknits on twitter)
This is what the toe looks like with actual sockyarn ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you Bev!Mmmmwah! (the background is something from her glass store! Sooooo pretty!!!!)

Basically you are still increasing on four points like you would with the “pointy” toe for toe up, but you distributed where you increase, which makes the whole thing look more round!

You can also do this with a crochet cast on in the beginning!
Just crochet a chain of a few more stitches then you need, then pick up 16 stitches in it, like so:

Divide st evenly on DPN’s from set.
Proceed as described in Round 1- 16. 

Now you thread the tail end of the yarn on your yarn needle, open up the provisional cast on and catch the live stitches with your yarn needle. Pull them together and sew in the ends! Presto finished!

Hope this helps! have fun knitting. If you use this toe, please credit me and I would LOVE to see pictures! ๐Ÿ™‚


Copyright Rambling Designs 2010. All rights reserved!
You may use these instructions to knit socks for sale, please give me credit though. DO NOT sell the tutorial as such, or use my pictures without my WRITTEN permission though! I’d be happy if you link to it.
Thank you!

It’s free, but if you feel like it, I’m  always grateful for a donation. Being a poor artist and all…

4 thoughts on “Round toe for toe up socks

  1. Now…this might seem like a silly question…but…how do you orientate the toe to do the heel? like X or +? I'm leaning towards the X method, with two increase lines on top, and two underneath. I could do one of each I guess. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Hello!Not a silly question at all! ๐Ÿ™‚ I usually do my heels over needles 1 and 2 (I'm using DPN's for socks only) unless I have a pattern-stitch, that requires me to change my habit (I don't use patterns for my socks, so I can't tell you how you would do it for certain patterns). So my toe increases will resemble a +, but this round toe really goes either way.I guess once you are done with the toe, just try it on and see which is more comfortable for you and go that way :)Knitting socks and wearing them is supposed to be a pleasure, so there is usually no "right and wrong", rather only "the way that works for you"… ;D

  3. Pingback: Round toe-up tutorial | Perigrines Eyrie

  4. Pingback: barely remembered toe up method | Perigrines Eyrie

Happy to hear from you! :)

