2012

Is the year of the handspun yarn here at Rambling Designs! ALL my private projects will be done exclusively in yarn spun by me.

Since last years “Stash busting challenge went so well, why not?

I have of late lamented the fact that I do not make enough for myself/my family out of my handspun yarn and am determined to rectify this situation this year!

Handspun yarn really adds a whole other layer to your projects.  I can look at any of  my handspun yarns and tell you where I spun it, who was around and in some cases what we talked about. I love the mechanics of spinning. The almost monotonous  work, where  your thoughts are free to roam. (Not that mine doesn’t roam frequently without yarn attached LOL)
So in anticipation of January 7th and St. Distaff’s day, I have taken out nearly all my spinning stash (I remembered one bag under the bed after I put everything else away again. It has more of the purple wool in it) took pictures and put them up here for all to see. I can’t wait to dive in!

Have a look at my treasures!

YUMMMM!!!!

This batch is a bit more to do. Karen's Alpaca was hand carded by me too. 🙂

Can’t wait to dive in! The carding will be done when the weather is a bit better, so I can do it outside. I also have to wash the grey fleece one more time. Need sunshine for that! 😀

How about you? What’s your “Fibre challenge” for this year? Do you have anything planned? Do you want to participate in mine? Do you just want to get a bit better at spinning? Join in! You don’t need to spin EVERYTHING you use, but I am sure it will be fun to use a bit more of your handspun this year, then last!
I will put up an album on my FB page with this “stash” and with all the resulting handspun and projects! 🙂 Plus a “2012 handspinning challenge” group, if you like to join in. Or just keep track of what I’m doing here on my blog! 🙂

5 thoughts on “2012

  1. I just want to do more knitting in general. I’d like to actually make, and KEEP, a pair of socks for myself. 🙂 That stash is gonna be pretty. I know nothing about spinning or any of that. I just buy yarn based on what it feels like or what a specific project calls for. You’re gonna be busy this year with all that though. 🙂

Happy to hear from you! :)

