My first time.

Today was the first time I altered a piece of clothing for someone not belonging to my immediate family! This was a big step for me. I have no fear when it comes to fixing or altering OUR clothes, but if it is for someone else…..

Well, this wonderful and trusting lady I know gave me two pair of carheart pants to cut and hem.

I did it!

Did I mess it up?

OF COURSE I DID! 🙂

I went and bought matching thread (a luxury my family seldom gets, I just use what comes closest! hahahah)I did a pair of jeans for my DD first, to get back into the swing of things. No big deal. Measure, cut, pin and sew. Done in a blink! Then I got the first pair of jeans out for the lady. First pair: went great! Like  a dream! I went much slower than for our family clothing. Made double sure everything was just so. It worked all out! YAYYY

Second pair! No problem! I can do this! I’m awesome!

Put them on my cutting mat, measure a third time. ( I always measure a gazillion times when I do things not for us) All is well… turn around to grab my rotary cutter and… woosh, cut 🙂 Great!

Next leg… put it up on the mat, measure, grab my rotary and woosh, cut. Oh yes! I should do this for a living! I rock at this! There has never been a seamstress…

Wait…..

This looks weird…

Ut-Oh

Is this cut off smaller then the first one? Can’t be… Oh I must have not cut off enough of the second one… *tape comes out, since I now don’t trust the measuring lines of the mat*

Nope… it’s perf…..

OH NO!!! *cold fingers of fear tingling up and down my spine*

Double and triple measure the first leg. Yep! I’m AWESOME indeed! I cut the seam-allowance right off! 🙂 The leg is now exactly as long as it is supposed to be AFTER SEWING! O.O

So what to do? First off I freak out. Sitting on the floor on my cutting mat, hyperventilating. *gasp gasp gasp*

Second: I call the lady to confess my poor math skills and superior looser-ness. She is not home. I leave an ambiguous message. Hey there! Please call me back! hehe *awkward laugh*

Third:Cut the second leg to the same length as the first.

Fourth: To the sewing machine! I hem it as little as humanly possible! A minute seam! so the end measurement is only 1/2 an inch shorter then what it was supposed to be. With no raw edges showing despite the little I have to work with. I use a dark dark thread that is almost non detectable with the dark colour of the jeans. THEN! STROKE OF GENIUS! I make a “fake” seam just a bit up and in the orang-y jeans colour thread! Now it looks like there is a seam! Yes! I rescued it! I’m rather proud of myself…

Yes! Can you tell without looking close?

Then I get the call back and feel bad right away. Confession time, baby! So I tell the lady what happened and how I fixed it. SHE WAS TOTALLY AWESOME ABOUT IT! She laughed and said it was all ok. She was glad I did it at all and that she wears her jeans long anyway and it would fit just fine!

WHEW!!!!

Lesson learned: Stick to knitting, Bridgett!

Speaking of knitting. I am done with two of the four pairs of mittens and half a scarf! 🙂 YAYYY!

Two sets of mittens. Simple, but so cute in this yarn! 🙂

Half a scarf simple k1 twisted, p1 pattern. It's a bit longer by now....

6 thoughts on “My first time.

  1. Wow, you are brilliant. I have been sewing over 35 years and most people don’t even know about this. Good for you. I think with some practice you will be a knitter, crocheter AND a seamstress!!!!
    So proud of you.
    ~Louise

    • Thank you so much, Louise! it means so much to me to have you say such nice things about my sewing. I am so in awe of you and Karen! You guys are my role-models when it comes to sewing! 🙂
      I had no idea that this was a trick that professionals use! I thought it was just a little “save”…. 🙂 YAYYY for just going for it! 🙂

    • Oh I SOOOO relate to this. lol. My sweetie thinks I’m brilliant, but even he makes sure to check his pants, if I’ve altered them, before he goes out. I swear the tape measure changes sizes on me when I’m not looking, then just laughs and laughs and laughs….
      Jeanie

  2. Bridgett you did a wonderful job!!! Your stitching looks awesome and quite professional 🙂 Let me tell you another trick for hemming jeans, when you realize that you cut them both two different lengths. Sew the part you cut off back onto the jeans, right sides together. Take as tiny a seam as you dare, and zig zag the seam edges to prevent fraying. Or, you can take a seam as large as will provide the needed length when turned back to front. Kind of hard to explain, let me know if it’s not any clearer than mud 🙂

Happy to hear from you! :)

