Feature Friday! KnittingGlassGuy CHRIS!

It’s Friday again! 🙂 I have a tool-maker for you this week! Chris Murphy makes glass knitting needles! Can you imagine? Super smooth and pretty and amazing! A handmade tool for your handmade treasures!
Ok, enough of me… I let Chris tell you!
I have been a glassblower for over 16 years.
2 years ago I was thinking about new products to make. So I made a set of Knitting Needles and took them to the local yarn shop.
The owners loved them, and asked if I could make crochet hooks as well. So I went back to my workshop and started experimenting with designs for them.
I came up with this design/shape for the crochet hooks and showed it to them. They tested it out and loved it.

These works of art are CROCHET HOOKS!!!!

So I focused my glasswork almost entirely on making Crochet Hooks, Straight Knitting Needles, Cable Needles and DPN’s.
The next request was for Circular Knitting Needles, and that took almost a year to figure out how I was going to make the join between needle and chord.
Along the way I learned how to knit as well, and now I am addicted to playing with yarn…..hahahaha Learning to Crochet is next on my list.

Chris, knitting Socks!

About a year ago I designed my website to make ordering easier for people. I also frequently talk to people on facebook and twitter, to make fiber friends and talk about custom orders.

At work

The glass is flameworked in a torch that puts out 5,250 degrees.
After shaping and working the hooks or needles, I then Anneal them in a Kiln at 1,025 degrees.
Isn’t it amazing? I love handmade tools! It just ads another layer, another person with all their dreams and hopes to my work. it also makes me think back to the days where people didn’t have machine produced tools at all and how wonderful this must have been. I think handmade is really the way of the future!
If you want to know more about Chris, then subscribe to him on FB and Twitter. He is fun to chat with, let me tell you!
Here is also a link to his Facebook artists page.  Go and “like”!
If you are an artists, or know of an artist you think deserves to be featured, please do let me know with an email, or a comment here. (You can also send me a message on FB if you like, or that is easier for you)
My featured artists will go on to be featured on three more blogs this month. First on  Louise’s blog, then on  Karen’s blog, and then on the Indie Mosaic blog! So you get maximum exposure! Since we all do different things you will reach different readers on each of our blogs and you really get your name out there! It’s really great. And best of all: It’s free! If you enjoyed reading this and want to be featured yourself, or know of someone that you think should be featured, please let me know through an email, or a comment on this post, or send me a message on FB. I would also recommend that you check out the upcoming artists in the calendar in the Indie Mosaic board!
3 thoughts on “Feature Friday! KnittingGlassGuy CHRIS!

  1. Love this post, Bridgett! What an interesting concept. The glass blower is the artist I could stand and watch for hours when i am at the beach. Such precise work and now, Chris going to a whole new level by challenging himself with all the different size hooks and needles and even the circular needle!!! He is brilliant.

    ~Louise

Happy to hear from you! :)

