Review: Still Life With Murder

I have decided to make book reviews a bimonthly event here at Rambling Designs! So every other Thursday you will get to see what I have read and what I think about it.  How does that sound?

Still Life With MurderStill Life With Murder by P.B. Ryan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a $0.99 book on B&N. I bought it on a gift card I got! YAYYY.  I pulled it ahead of the line again, since I am really into murder mysteries right now! 🙂 I did not expect much from a 99 cent book, but BOY did I get a surprise!

When I first started this book, I was not sure if I was going to finish it. It gave me a few “What the heck?” moments.
But by the time I hit the third chapter, I was hooked!
I didn’t have the luxury of just reading it through in one all nighter, since I had a full calendar this week, but I totally could have!

I simply adore Nell, the heroine of the book! She is street-smart in a time where that was not seemly for a woman. What I really love about it, is that the author absolutely made it believable! Sometimes these “period” books with witty, smart women as main characters usually are  a bit like take a modern woman and just put her in hoop skirts. Still life with Murder is absolutely NOT like that! Nell tries very hard to be the respectable governess and keep her past well hidden, but it’s her past, that helps her get along in this murder mystery. I also love that she doesn’t just “solve” the murder on her own. It’s a combination of people and clues that help her figure it all out in the end.

I really liked the tension between Nell and William as well. At first I was a bit disappointed they did not kiss in the end, but now thinking about it, this is the only way it could have gone! It is PERFECT this way!

I have to admit that some of the description of the violence of war and the tortures did not sit well with me. I just don’t respond well to it. So if you are even more squeamish then me, you may want to skip these parts.. I just have too vivid an imagination, not to be bothered by it. I was so glad that the abuse Nell suffered at the hands of her boyfriend was not closer described! I could not have handled that!

Apart from these little things, I enjoyed the book very much!

I am soooooo looking forward to reading the next book in this series! This definitely made it to the top of my “must buy first” list!

I would absolutely recommend this book, without hesitation! Four stars, without blinking an eye!

Way to go and thank you so much P.B. Ryan for a very entertaining reading adventure! You certainly made my list of must read authors!

This is a $0.99 book on B&N right now, if you’re interested!

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Still Life With Murder

  1. Pingback: Review: Murder in a Mill Town « Rambling Designs

Happy to hear from you! :)

