Feature Friday! Arlene Ciroula and her Secret Stash Game

I have Arlene here today! Most of you may know her as the “spinartiste”

She has a stash game going on right now! Go check it out!!!! I nearly almost participated, but will have to wait until later in the year, when things settle down around here. (when DH operations are over and everything) But then: BUCKLE UP! Because I WILL participate and it WILL be super fun! 🙂

Anyway, here is Arlene!

“Hi, my name is Arlene Ciroula and I’m the owner and publisher at www.spinartiste.com, an online publication that focuses on the making and using hand-crafted fibers and yarns.  I started the site about a year ago because I wanted more information about the indie fiber scene (mainly hand spinning) and didn’t feel like there was anything out there giving me what I was craving.  The site includes weekly featured indie fiber artist profiles, a gallery page, free patterns for using hand spun yarns, and an extensive library of links for spinning and dyeing related instruction.

For 2012, we launched a brand new feature known as the Secret Stash Game which is like “Top Chef” for fiber artists.  Every other month, 20 fiber artists have the opportunity to receive a game kit containing very similar materials.  They have four weeks to produce a project and send in images.  They must use something of everything in the kit and nothing is to be added. 

The images are posted for the readers to select their favourite.  The response to the first round of the game far exceeded my hopes and sold out very quickly!  There are many other exciting developments in store for this site this year as well.”

If you are an artists, or know of an artist you think deserves to be featured, please do let me know with an email, or a comment here. (You can also send me a message on FB if you like, or that is easier for you)
My featured artists will go on to be featured on three more blogs this month. First on  Louise’s blog, then on  Karen’s blog, and then on the Indie Mosaic blog! So you get maximum exposure! Since we all do different things you will reach different readers on each of our blogs and you really get your name out there! It’s really great. And best of all: It’s free! If you enjoyed reading this and want to be featured yourself, or know of someone that you think should be featured, please let me know through an email, or a comment on this post, or send me a message on FB. I would also recommend that you check out the upcoming artists in the calendar in the Indie Mosaic board!
12 thoughts on “Feature Friday! Arlene Ciroula and her Secret Stash Game

  1. This just seems like sooooo much fun!!!! I am bummed that I am not a spinner!!!!! 🙂 Thanks for this exciting idea and sharing all this information. I look forward to following to see some of the things made with the kits.
    Bridgett! With your mind….OMG!!!! What you could come up with, I am sure!
    ~Louise

  2. I was quite involved in Arlens post on your blog. I’ll keep check you both out. You do have a great talented mind.

  3. Bridgett, very cool the secret stash thing, my mom is a spinner and is really creative and loves doing cool things like this and I would love somehow get her signed up to be part of the next one, can you email me and tell me how to do that????

    • Best way to do it really is to go to Alrene’s blog and comment there. I know she already has a waiting list for this and she can put you on it! 🙂 It would be so cool to get your mom signed up for this! 🙂

Happy to hear from you! :)

