Review: Third Grave Dead Ahead

Third Grave Dead Ahead
Third Grave Dead Ahead by Darynda Jones
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Finally got around to this book now! I was so looking forward to it, since I loved the first two in the series so much. (First-, Second review)
Sadly I have to say: this one was only ok.

Mrs. Jones writing is still as hilarious as it was, but Charlie doesn’t talk to the departed as much in this book, as in the ones before. I missed that. It also centres more around Reyes, than anything else. The “Case” is really more of a filler in this book.

This is rather sad. I had come to like how Charlie solves her cases and the help she gets from the dead people.
I understand Reyes is important to the whole “Grim Reaper” bit, that Charlie is stuck with, but honestly, the sexual tension was strung through the book to a point where it just go annoying. It kept distracting from the flow of the whole story. I don’t mind a bit of steaming up the windows, and it can even get graphic now and again, but when you build tension and just keep on building it, it will get rather repetitive and boring.

The “Case” Charlie was on in this book was rather shallow and predictable this time round. I didn’t get the whole biker gang bit and can only hope this will have a greater bit in the next book maybe? Make it easier for Charlie to talk to Rocket?

I totally understand that you can’t hit a home run every time, so I am giving it the benefit of the doubt. I will justify the story in this book -being what it is- by saying: I cannot look into Mrs. Jones’ head, and I don’t know where she is going with this. Later on, I might change my mind about the book and say it was perfect.. seeing as how the next one turned out.
I will read the next book in the series when it comes out, but honestly: I am not as impatient for it as I was for this one to come out.

As of now “Third Grave Dead Ahead” will only get two stars out of five.

View all my reviews

Happy to hear from you! :)

