Handmade friends

I couldn’t help myself. I had to start it. I cast on today for the Gunnister Man Pouch.(pattern for free right here)

I’m sitting here working on it. It’s going to be a little gift of friendship for Xiane.

See those pretty, delicate needles? I have three sets in different sizes. My friend Molly makes them!

I am making it out of hand spun yarn. I spun this yarn myself.  On a spindle, that was handmade by my friend, Xiane. (She also sent the yak fluff I am using for the main body of the bag) Then I plied it on another spindle, that I traded for with another fibre friend of mine, Alice Scholze. The baby camel-fibre, that I am using for the pattern in the little pouch I got as a gift a few years back from a spinning friend in Austria. (the lighter coloured ball in the picture. On the lower picture you can see it still on the spindle) And now I am knitting this handpsun yarn on needles my friend Molly the Metal Smith hand forged in her smithy.

The spindle I spun the yarn on, from Xiane

I must be the most fortunate fibre artist in the world. I have wonderful tools, made by wonderful friends. . I work here, in my little house, feeling so wonderfully connected to you guys and very blessed right now.

Over there, in my stash, sits some more fibre, that Darylann sent me. Just out of the blue. It is waiting patiently to be made into yarn on my handmade spindles and then knitted up on my handmade needles into another one of these pouches.

Is there anything better in this world, then friends?

I want to thank you all. For being here with me. Although you are all over the United States and miles from here physically, I feel surrounded by your love and talent every time I sit down to work!

8 thoughts on “Handmade friends

  1. Thank you for your kind words about my knitting needles! I am so glad you are using them with your amazing knitting.
    We just got an order for a sterling silver drop spindle. Won’t that be lovely!

    • OMG! A sterling silver drop spindle! WHAT A TREASURE to make and to own I am sure!!! Oh you MUST show me pictures! Love you lots, Molly! Miss ya, you should come by soon! We could have a BBQ in the back yard! 🙂

  2. You just made me all teary and joyful. I am so lucky to have a friend like you. Your other friends also seem pretty darn amazing! ❤

Happy to hear from you! :)

