My Grape nut recipe

I made my own grape nuts. Haven’t done it in a while. Sad really, since we love the home made kind…Ours is sort of an in-between of grape nuts and Granola really….I love to fiddle with recipes, so by all means: take this one as a guide and fiddle with it to your hearts content! Change things, try what fits your family’s taste-buds best! 🙂

I thought I share this recipe with all of you, since it is super easy to make, super fast and SUPER YUMMY!!!

You need:

  • 3 cups of flour (whole wheat if you have it. I sometimes use just unbleached, if I run out of whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup of organic hemp fibre (you can totally substitute another half cup of flour for this. I used hemp fibre for the first time today in our grape nuts and it turned out so yummy, I will use it again! I have tried hemp fibre by itself and it was nasty! But it’s good for you, so here is a use for it)
  • 1 cup of oatmeal
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 2 cups milk (try almond milk, or rice milk, or buttermilk for variety)
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp flavouring (whatever you prefer. Vanilla, maple syrup….Pick what floats your boat)
  • 1 cup chopped almonds
  • 2 jelly roll pans

What you do:

Mix all ingredients together until well blended, spread them on a greased jelly roll pan and bake for 15 minutes. The entire dough will fit on one jelly roll pan! You need the second one later!

Take the pan out of the oven and let cool a bit. Cut the “cake” into pieces and crumble them in your food processor. (try not to eat it all at this point! You do want some for the cereal! lol) Make sure you do not process them too long!!! Just until they are nice and crumbly. Then put them back on the pan in a single layer (you will need a second baking sheet for this) and put them back in the oven at 300 degrees for one hour, stirring them every 15 minutes, or so. After the hour is up, turn the oven off and leave the grape nuts in the oven over night. You can enjoy the cereal the next day. I put mine in an airtight glass container. It doesn’t last long in our house, so please don’t ask me how long it will take for it to go bad. We haven’t had a batch go bad yet…. 😀  (I would say maybe ten days,  two weeks?)


2 thoughts on “My Grape nut recipe

  1. Thank you for sharing. I made 1/2 receipe (I know :)daah. Next time double. My son Kevin, lost 140 # so far. He is blown away on this. He doesnt like store bought. He goes to his sister in law’s to watch a t.v program and is take some. Thanks he says.

    • So glad you like it! 🙂 It’s really simple and good… My husband is picky with everything, but he really loves this. You can totally vary the nuts and the flavouring so it won’t ever get boring 🙂

Happy to hear from you! :)

