Home made shampoo

I made shampoo yesterday and as promised on my FB page, here is the recipe to share with those that were interested!  : )

It takes all of 15 minutes and time to cool down… that is all.

You need:

  • 8-10 soap nuts (If you rather like lather, then use 1/4 cup castille soap instead of the soap nuts, it won’t be as much lather as store bought shampoo, but more then the soap nuts. I don’t use it, I’m good with the nuts)
  • 2-3 bags of chamomile tea (or about a tablespoon, if you use loose tea like me)
  • 1 tablespoon dried lavender (you can use any kind of herb you like the scent of here.. like rosemary for example, or basil… just imagine! You hair could smell like basil! YAYY)
  • 6 cups water
  • cleaned out shampoo bottle, or any other container with a tight fitting lid

Optional ingredients:

  • Juice of one fresh squeezed lemon (The lemon can be drying, but if you have greasy hair, it will take care of the grease nicely)
  • 1/2 tsp grape seed oil (This is great if you have rather dry hair to start out with!
  • 1 tablespoon honey helps with frizz
  • a few drops of essential oil of choice (to make it smell just the way you want it to!)

How to:

Put all ingredients into a pot and let boil for 15 minutes. You may want to stay there, since it tends to foam up and boil over like milk, or pasta water would. Just stay there and watch it and when you see it come up, just blow gently on it and the foam will go back down.

When it is cooled down, strain the solids out of the liquid. Pour the liquid into an empty shampoo bottle, or any other container with a lid and use as you would shampoo. (you may want to pour it directly on your head, since it will be a bit more liquid-y then regular shampoo. I am experimenting at the moment with pectin…but I can’t make any promises just yet if it works out or now. I will let you know!

Notes:

This shampoo will NOT foam up! You will have to get used to that! You also need less then with bought shampoo! This shampoo makes hair incredibly soft and it smells amazing!  Please be careful as it can irritate the eyes when the liquid gets in them. Just like store bought shampoo, or soap does. Just rinse well for a few minutes.

Your hair will have to get used to it as well. Give it a few washes. (it can take anywhere form one week to two months for hair to get used to no shampoo. It depends on the person really)

If your hair dries out more then it did before, use less of the shampoo next time you wash your hair, if it is still a bit greasy, then use a bit more, or leave it in a bit longer. Make sure you wash it out well!

This is so much better for your skin and for your hair then the chemical-filled bought shampoos. It does have a best by date though. Try and use it up within two weeks…If you think you might not be able to use it all in that short amount of time, let me tell you: it can double as a body wash as well. That ought to speed the usage! You could can it. That might prolong it too, but still not indefinitely. Honestly I have never done it, so I can’t say anything to how well canning the shampoo works….

You can follow this shampoo with a vinegar rinse if you like. Just mix apple cider vinegar with warm water and pour over your wet hair. massage in a bit and then wash out.

A word about soap nuts:
I use soap nuts for my laundry as well. I love them! They are biodegradable, make the laundry clean and smell fresh and leave no residue! Try them sometime if you haven’t already!

There are tons of other recipes out there for soap nut liquid and it’s use, have some fun and try them out! Find what works for you!

See the soap nuts? Our local Co-op has them here (maybe yours does too?), but there are tons of online places that sell them! Just do a search!

Oh and here is a picture of my hair, so you can see what it looks like : )

It’s actually nice and shiny (like a healthy dogs coat hahahaha) you can’t see it here how shiny it is…I have to make a better picture, but it’s too dark now.

My hair bleaches out a lot in the sun, so I will be super blond in summer again. (I’m a natural blond, but in winter, my hair gets dark.. it’s always been this weird…)

P.S. I know today was supposed to be a yoyo-update, but I haven’t done ANYTHING to it since last time… *sheepish grin* hence a recipe instead of an update. Hope that was ok 😀

2 thoughts on “Home made shampoo

  1. OMG!!! You have done it again!!!! How spectacular is this and who needs the suds that take forever to rinse out of long hair!!!!! I have to try this, but first I need to find soap nuts…I have never heard of them, ever….and I am old. 🙂
    Thanks, again, for another terrific idea!!!!!
    ~Louise

Happy to hear from you! :)

