Review: Fabric Surface Design: Painting, Stamping, Rubbing, Stenciling, Silk Screening, Resists, Image Transfer, Marbling, Crayons & Colored Pencils, Batik, Nature Prints, Monotype Printing

Fabric Surface Design: Painting, Stamping, Rubbing, Stenciling, Silk Screening, Resists, Image Transfer, Marbling, Crayons & Colored Pencils, Batik, Nature Prints, Monotype Printing
Fabric Surface Design: Painting, Stamping, Rubbing, Stenciling, Silk Screening, Resists, Image Transfer, Marbling, Crayons & Colored Pencils, Batik, Nature Prints, Monotype Printing by Cheryl Rezendes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow! What a book!
This is one of those books that gets you going and makes you look around your home for fabrics you could use to try out some of the techniques!

Fabulously explained, even a total novice can get elbow deep into tie dye without too much ado!
I have made rubbings on paper in art school, but somehow it did not translate that one could do this on fabric as well. It took this book to point it out to me! What a genius way to add textural effects!!!!

The book takes you through making your own stamps and gives you all kinds of ideas on what could potentially be used as a stamp and you may already have around the house! I love it, when I get to use stuff I already have, instead of having to run out and buy a whole bunch of stuff brand new! The book definitely earned a star on that account alone! 🙂

The depth of information the book provides is extensive. I have worked with fabric and fabric paints before in school and do know a fair bit, but there was so much more I had no idea existed!
If you are like me and love books, that can be with you from the shaky starts all the way to accomplished artist and not bore you to tears with the second perusal, this book is DEFINITELY for you!

I have flipped through it the minute I got it out of the envelope, then put it aside a while. Every time I went by the bookshelf, I picked it up and gave it a go. Reading a bit here and a bit there, re-reading some of the chapters. I can hardly wait until I actually have a bit of free time to try out everything I just read.

A nice thing about the book is also, that it does not just deal with one technique! It gives you a wide range of things to do to your fabric.
The profiles of the fiber artists are fantastic and definitely add another dimension to the book! To see what people have done with techniques now at your own fingertips is simply amazing!

Do yourself a favour and get this book! Never mind, that you have never done anything remotely like this before! If you have ever wanted to, THIS is the book that will get you there successfully!

View all my reviews

Happy to hear from you! :)

