Review: sewing school 2

sewing school 2
sewing school 2 by Amie Petronis Plumley and Andria Lisle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What a cute little book! I got it a few days ago to review and read right through it. I think it is definitely a great book for younger kids to learn how to sew on the sewing machine. I have to say: I learned it at home, but I am still not very skilled. I prefer hand sewing. (I think I might work my way through that book myself, to be honest…) My daughter (16 at this point) sews much more confidently on the machine! I am so glad for that!
She had a look at the book as well and found a few things she would be interested to make. That is not a small task with a teenager! SO I have to give kudos to the writers, to even engage that age group with some of their projects!

I like the way the book simply explains all the details of a machine, how to use all the different settings and then just goes on to actually USE the new learned skills in projects. No frill, so scare tactics, just read and then go! Of course there are a few rules to follow for safety, but use common sense and be careful, but it is not trying to make sewing on a machine sound like some magic, that only few sorcerers are capable of and if you don’t belong to the select few, better leave be… (Like some of the adult books do…)

Sewing school 2 comes with a built in ruler, which I think was a stroke of genius! Since the book will be there when you work through the projects. I love the ideas it gives for storing your tools as well and that some of the projects are actually FOR sewing, like the little pincushion and caddy. It explains how to read patterns and how to use them, how to thread a machine correctly, and explains some sewing terms.
I love that it gives a basic course in fabric!

The projects are well thought out and easy enough without being too “baby” (as some of my young friends commented, that looked at the book).
I think I might even have a go at the guitar cushion myself lol.

The patterns are nicely stored in the back of the book in a paper pouch, so nothing can get lost (given you stick them back in there when you are done).
All in all I would highly recommend this book to any young person that would like to learn how to sew and their parents. I think this could be a fun parent/kid project!
We have long extension cords, so we can set the machine up in the back yard and enjoy the outdoors while we sew in summer. You may want to try this!

 

Happy to hear from you! :)

