Review: Skirt-A-Day Sewing: Create 28 Skirts for a Unique Look Every Day

Skirt-A-Day Sewing: Create 28 Skirts for a Unique Look Every Day
Skirt-A-Day Sewing: Create 28 Skirts for a Unique Look Every Day by Nicole Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have had this book for about two weeks now. I got it for review from the publisher.

This is one of those books, that makes you want to dive into your fabric stash and get going. HOWEVER! My stash is not that extensive and I really don’t have any fabric I would like to be seen in. SO I have to be happy with reading, until I can get my hot little hands on the right stuff.
From what I read so far, I declare, this book is fabulous! It explains everything in detail. Not just the notions and tools you will need, but the measurements, how to measure and why it is important to get this step right. It is not one of those know-it-all books, that intimidate someone (like me) that does not trust a sewing machine as far as she can spit. It rather builds one’s confidence. It assists instead of lecturing. It breaks the process down into steps that are manageable and easily comprehended. No fear sewing! That’s what I like!

It also seems more like a “recipe” for the skirts rather than “follow the instructions or else” type of manual! I love that it builds confidence right from the start for changing what one does not like about a particular pattern! Don’t like the pockets? Leave them off! Want a separated front? Go for it!
It makes you draft your own basic pattern for your own skirt and then gives you variations on how to use it! Brilliant!
I had no idea, that from one such basic pattern you can manage to make this many wonderful and diverse skirts. Looking at the front page (which displays all the patterns given in the book) I did not think they all come from one basic pattern and just changing little bits of it.

This book is definitely a God-sent for me! I want to get into making more of my own clothes. I also have definite ideas, as to what I want those clothes to look like and haven’t found any commercial patterns to accommodate me in this endeavor. THIS BOOK is opening a door for me, that seemed locked with seven seals!

THANK YOU, NICOLE SMITH! I will be eternally in your debt!And so will be my wardrobe!

My recommendation: if you are a beginning seamstress, or just a fraidy cat like me: GO GET THIS BOOK AND DON’T LOOK BACK!
I will definitely sew up a few skirts, as soon as I can find the right fabric! Ready? Set! SEW!

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Skirt-A-Day Sewing: Create 28 Skirts for a Unique Look Every Day

  1. Sounds like a fun book even if you do know how to sew. I love the confidence building, which is so important to all of us in any new endeavor. Sounds great. May have to search it out, now, for my granddaughter. 🙂 Thanks.
    ~L

    • Awesome! I really really love it and I am going to make at least one skirt in my upcoming vacation.. along with some soap! I have a book on soapmaking as well to review lol… LOVE that both of those books made me less afraid of trying it out! 😉

    • I really love this book! Sadly I am stuck in deadline knitting at the moment and haven’t even gotten around to buying the fabric for the potential skirt lol If you have a chance to peek at the book, or pick it up, do! I really think it is worth it! 😉

Happy to hear from you! :)

