Review: Knit Christmas Stockings, 2nd Edition

Knit Christmas Stockings, 2nd Edition
Knit Christmas Stockings, 2nd Edition by Gwen Steege
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ok. I think this is the fastest turn around in reviewing a book, I have ever done. I got it literally two hours ago! This book was sent to me for review by the publisher.

I unwrapped it and stuck my nose in it.

Ok. I will start off by saying: I like this book!
I have recently reviewed a sock knitting book that left more than a bit to desire (knit your socks on straight! BARF, so I was a bit shy at first when this tumbled out of the envelope.

After taking an overview of the book, I noticed right away, it had a spine and real binding! So many crafting books now go for the “spiral binding”. I am not a big fan of the spiral binding. I am always afraid, pages will rip out of it. The only thing worse is the spiral binding with a hard spine.
I was delighted to see a knitting book with a real spine! THANK YOU! I will not have nightmares about pages falling out and trailing after me down the road with this book!

it has a great size! Not as thin as a leaflet, but not war and peace size either. Just big enough to have a good amount of patterns in it and keep you interested. Yet still small enough to fit in your project bag, without breaking your back.

I like a compact book.

The second pleasant surprise was the thumbnails of the projects in the contents list! Brilliant idea! Now I don’t have to memorize all the names. I can find it by picture.

Once you get past the usual how to section of any crafting book, it gets interesting. The patterns are cute without being overly ambitious. You can start any of these socks and actually get them done without loosing your sanity along the way. Some are easy enough to be next to TV knitting and some will need a bit more concentration, but I really think one does not have to be intimidated by any of them. There is something for a wide variety of skill level.
I looked through all of the patterns and of course found a few that would fit in with my family right away. My daughter joined me and we both decided that we definitely need to make the mix and match stockings for each of us, as they fit the best for our family. The Star Brocade was a close second and will go on my gift giving list.

The patterns themselves are well written and easy to understand and the charts are a nice size, where you won’t loose your eye sight trying to read them.

A further nice touch are the ornament patterns. Very cute! I love them all and will definitely make a few to decorate the house!

I would definitely recommend this book to my fellow knitters and Holiday enthusiasts! Great little book to get you “in the mood” and at $12.95 it won’t break the bank to get it.

View all my reviews

Happy to hear from you! :)

