Review: Buffi’s Dress Design: Sew 30 Fun Styles

Buffi's Dress Design: Sew 30 Fun Styles
Buffi’s Dress Design: Sew 30 Fun Styles by Buffi Jashanmal
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Oi.
First off, let me tell you: I don’t think I am the right target audience for this book. I am a middle aged woman and an intermediate beginning seamstress. I also have a VERY specific taste when it comes to my clothes.

I am not a big fan of wild prints and bold colours. (Maybe as a splash of colour, but I do not like to walk around dipped in hot pink, or bright yellow, if that makes sense. Most of the sample dresses in the book, have either big prints, or really bold colours. So I had to look past that to “see” the dress.
Most of the dresses are also too short for a woman like myself. I do not hold that against the designer, however. There are plenty of people, not minding their underwear showing, when they bend over.
I guess this is easy to fix, by simply making the dress longer. Not a big deal. Most of the designs appear simple at first glance, but are not really just cut and go. One has to be aware at every stage what is going on. I am not sure, if these designs are for absolute beginners.

Also: The sample pieces do not fit the models properly. That is disturbing to see. It makes me wonder, if the dresses will fit me. I do not want to put all that hard work and money in, only to find out it won’t fit. Nice fabric is not cheap. This is not just my opinion. I have let several other (accomplished) seamstresses look at the book. They all concurred. I let them check it out, since I didn’t trust myself judging this. The dresses sag, strain and bunch up in the wrong spots.

The Chapters one and two (Fabrics and tools, Slopers, Patterns and Muselins) are actually quite interesting. In my opinion there is not much in this book, that would appeal to a 40 year old woman. I have no idea about younger generations (although my 17 year old daughter agreed, she didn’t like any of the fabrics chosen, or the way the clothes fit on the models). Take that for what it’s worth.

I am not saying stay away. I really think there might be people out there, that love bright colours and garish prints and short, short dresses. Go, give it a once-over when you’re in the book shop.
I might try one of the patterns in the book and see. I will amend my review at that point to reflect the experience. Please don’t hold your breath though, it could take a while.
Again, this review is not meant to put the designer down, it is just my opinion about the patterns offered in the book.

View all my reviews

Happy to hear from you! :)

