Needle and thread

DSC00659

I am still sewing. My husband has more confidence in me than I do. He saved up some money, bought fabric and asked me, if I could sew him a shirt.

I can’t believe he really asked me that. He is very particular about his clothes.

Well, nothing ventured, nothing gained. I set to work. The fabric is amazingly soft and airy and wonderful. I think it is the nicest stuff I have worked with so far!

Gauze!!!!

I have to admit, I am a bit intimidated by the whole thing. I want this to be perfect, but I already know it won’t be. It is hand made. (and by me of all people)

It’s a rather intimate experience as well, to sew this shirt for my husband. I look at every stitch I take and I get to know his shirt close-up. Way closer than I know any of his other shirts. Although I have washed them for years and fixed tears and holes in them…I do not know them as well, as intimately as I know this shirt.

The story about Anne Boleyn and Katherine of Aragon comes to mind. Anne heard that Katherine was still sewing Henry’s shirts and she lost it. Completely freaked out and started shouting. True, or not, I used to wonder why she reacted that way. Isn’t it better to let someone else do all the hard work? I love sewing since I was little and have done hand sewing since I can remember, so I know how much work goes into making ANYTHING, never mind an entire shirt. It just never occurred to me what a true labor of love making a shirt for your loved one is. I understand now why she reacted the way she is said to have done. I would have reacted the same way.

To be honest, from here on out, I will always have a little twinge of jealousy for the hands that did sew the shirts my husband will buy and wear. It is weird, I know, and probably completely out there, but I can’t help it. Laugh at me, if you like. I don’t care.

I guess, I better get really good at doing this, so I can sew them all for him.

I love this man so much.

Happy to hear from you! :)

