Review: The Spinner’s Book of Fleece: A Breed-by-Breed Guide to Choosing and Spinning the Perfect Fiber for Every Purpose

The Spinner's Book of Fleece: A Breed-by-Breed Guide to Choosing and Spinning the Perfect Fiber for Every Purpose
The Spinner’s Book of Fleece: A Breed-by-Breed Guide to Choosing and Spinning the Perfect Fiber for Every Purpose by Beth Smith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received this book about a week ago from the publisher for review.
I have not put it down since!

I don’t know how I could live without this book for so long!

What a wonderful resource!!!

This book will NOT teach you how to spin. It will teach you how to spin a yarn that suits the fibre you have! We(well I anyway) think about our projects and what the end result will be and then go from there. I have not ever started with the fibre. This book has toppled my spinning habit on it’s head! I cannot wait to go and find some of the breeds Mrs. Smith is talking about in her wonderful book and spin them into the perfect yarn for the perfect project!
I have always loved to knit with my home spun yarn, but this will make the whole experience even more rewarding, I think. To know the best way to show off any fibre’s strong points and really make it work for you and the project.

Mrs. Smith also gives a bit of a background on the sheep breeds, she discusses in the book. Couple this book with The Field Guide To Fleece and you are pretty much set for any fibre market, or breed auction you could imagine! I CAN’T WAIT TO TRY OUT SOME OF THE TIPS she gives for choosing your fleece at an auction, or a fibre festival! 🙂
I feel so much more confident to go and buy a fleece instead of processed fibre. I feel armed and ready!

But wait! There is more!
The book also teaches you how to identify the random bits in your stash, to which you lost all notes and labels. (yes, I have those too!! LOTS of those!)
So much information about the breeds and how to keep your head on straight when going to fibre shows and how to pick fleeces, or more processed fiber.

I honestly believe this book is a necessity in every spinners library. No matter if you are a beginner, or an expert. We all can use a refresher course from time to time and a little place to look things up. We can’t keep EVERYTHING in our heads, all the time.

Thank you, for such a wonderful resource book! I know I will recommend it to all my fibre friends.

The information is well written and easily understood and put in, are o practice. I find it always so important that even books like this one, for plain information are written well and in an engaging manner. This is absolutely the case for Beth Smith. She knows what she is talking about and gets it across in a way that doesn’t make you fall asleep three pages in.

I feel so much more confident in picking my next fleece and processing it myself to really show it off to it’s best.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: The Spinner’s Book of Fleece: A Breed-by-Breed Guide to Choosing and Spinning the Perfect Fiber for Every Purpose

Happy to hear from you! :)

