Review: Christmas Crochet for Hearth, Home & Tree: Stockings, Ornaments, Garlands, and More

Christmas Crochet for Hearth, Home & Tree: Stockings, Ornaments, Garlands, and More
Christmas Crochet for Hearth, Home & Tree: Stockings, Ornaments, Garlands, and More by Edie Eckman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s that time of year again. Everybody is getting ready for the holidays and for us, home made decor is always on the top of the “mood setters”. So when I received Christmas Crochet for review, it came just at the right time.

This book is full to the brim with the most adorable crochet projects! Tiny mittens and socks for garlands, felted ornaments for your tree, little birds of hope and tabletop “trees”, to name a few. I fell in love with the little birds and was going to make some to show with this review, but time ran away from me and BAM, it was Friday, November 7th and my turn to post in the blog hop. I started it though. I hope that counts!

2014-11-06 16.27.33

2014-11-06 16.26.28

The full size stockings for the chimney caught my daughter’s eye and she might just make one, or four of them, to display around the holidays. The patterns in the book are well written and there is something suitable for all kinds of skill levels. So the three crocheters in the family (my son = beginner, my daughter = intermediate, and I = *master of the universe*) will find something to make, that will keep us occupied, without being boring.

2014-11-06 16.28.03

One of the best things about the book: It has all patterns in both written and charted form. I am a chart girl all the way, however a lot of my students like to have the written form, just to check back.

I find the “Project notes” that come with each of the patterns a nice touch. You can see at one glance what techniques will be required for this project and know right up front what to look up, if you might need help with a sock heel, or crochet in the round. (youtube is your friend!)

2014-11-06 16.27.10

Another nice addition is the different textures the projects offer. So many different stitches and even felted ornaments, there is something new to learn for everyone.

The projects are mostly small and can be finished in an afternoon. This is of particular interest to procrastinators, such as myself. Why hasten to make gifts , when you can wait until the last minute? Or maybe you are invited to a holiday party and just want a little something to bring as a hostess gift, that is not the predictable bottle of wine, or a third bouquet of flowers, the hostess will have to take care of.

The book is small enough to fit comfortably in your project bag and you can whip it out and get an ornament going while you wait for the bus, or sit at the doctors office. I like portable projects and books, that travel with me without weighing me down too much.

Want to know the best part about this review? There is a giveaway! You can win your very own copy of Christmas Crochet! Right here. All you have to do, is simply leave a comment and tell me a bit about what you are going to crochet this year! That’s it. Easy as pie! (Sorry, the giveaway is open to US residents only.Too much postage otherwise.)

And since this is a blog hop, there are more opportunities to win! Just check out the other blogs and see their requirements to enter!
Here is a list of all participating blogs:

4-Nov Moogly

If you are on Ravelry and want to add some of the projects to your queue, here is a link for you:
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/christmas-crochet-for-hearth-home–tree/patterns
And in case you don’t want to wait out the giveaway, here is a link to storey, where you can buy your own copy of the book:
Storey: http://www.storey.com/book_detail.php?isbn=9781612123295&cat=Crafts&p=0

The giveaway will close November 14th at midnight and I will announce the winner on November 15th.

39 thoughts on “Review: Christmas Crochet for Hearth, Home & Tree: Stockings, Ornaments, Garlands, and More

  1. I plan to finish crocheting some Christmas gifts and some other goodies for the holidays! In the new year, I’d like to start making some pillow covers and maybe a chunky afghan for the living room 🙂 Thanks for this give-away!

  2. I would love to win the book, because for ideas, more is more! I was determined not to procrastinate this year and so have finished crocheting all but one gift. They are all boxed
    and awaiting weighing for postage.

  3. woohoo these little projects look adorable! I crocheted an afghan this year. It came out gorgeous (if I do say so myself) lol. I’ll be making a giant flag blanket for the hubster this year. I started it but I’ve had other things come up that needed to be done first. 😉

  4. I’ve been crocheting to sell things at a local craft fair. Mostly hats, but I might try some fingerless gloves. And I love the stockings in the book, so I may try those too. 🙂

  5. Right now I am working on Christmas stockings. The one in the works is a light purple with a light green toe and heel. My favorite colors!

  6. I have been busy making Christmas gifts. Finished my first Afghan…a striped granny by Attic 24. My daughter Danielle wants her 5th Afghan a aqua blue and Gray chevron stripe and hats for my family.

  7. For a lot of the year I work on Christmas gifts for my whole family that takes up a lot of the time. The rest I love to make doilies. My Grandmother taught me to crochet when i was 6 and she taught me by making doilies. So I guess that has stuck with me.

  8. I have crocheting all year…various things. A backpack whale for my grandson as well as a bowling set!! sooo cute. I am now making him a sweater and cowls for my daughters. I would love to give the stocking in this book a try. Thank you for the chance to win.

  9. I plan on crocheting my son’s first stocking to put up 🙂 After that I’ll be working on ornaments and gifts. Gotta keep that hook going!

  10. I’m crocheting a lot of gifts this year. I have several scarves, lace snowflakes, a shawl, dish cloths, a baby sock monkey hat, and Amish puzzle ball done. A few more hats, a couple of dolls, and some doll clothes are still on the to-do list.

  11. I am working on the last of 40 crocheted snowflakes that will go out with every christmascard. I also work on santas. i did three for myself and when I posted the picture I was asked to do 4 more so it´s all red and white yarn over here!

  12. I’m sticking to what everyone in my family loves, cowls and scarfs, and trying to organize doing cards this year with a special snowflake as the decoration as my friends aren’t all Christian but still do wintery decorations. I like the bird pattern in this a lot; I’ve been considering making a “Bluebird of Happiness” for my friend who’s had a rough year and I think the pattern in the book would be small enough for her to attach to her purse. Thanks for being a part of the tour, I love finding new blogs by crocheters! 🙂

Happy to hear from you! :)

